“Twitter Famous” – What?

Something that really bugs me is the notion of being famous on social networking sites such as Twitter and Facebook. There are hundreds of people on there who use those sites for the sole intention of gaining popularity through posting (usually half-nude or provocative) pictures of themselves along with highly general updates prime for retweeting and relating to.

Okay, so that’s not a bad thing. In fact, I even follow a few “famous” people myself on Twitter. What really annoys me is how these people think that gaining all this popularity is actually going to do anything for them. Maybe its on the human social conscience to want to be popular – but are you really popular when it’s only on the internet?

The topic made me think of some of the lyrics from the dutch band Delain’s song ‘Generation Me’ which discusses the devotion to social networking and the true notion that many people (especially the young) use them in a hollow attempt to gain popularity.

I don’t know if I spend my time in vain
getting everyone to know my name
All I know is my face looks fucking right
from this certain angle, certain light

Yeah, you might have a great body and perfect body, you might have over twenty thousand followers on Twitter – but what do you really have? Devoting your life to online fame might help you find a boyfriend/girlfriend, a few short-term friends, a legion of admirers. But it probably won’t help you find a job, a house, happiness – or any of the things that truly matter in life. At the end of the day, I think they’re wasting their time. That’s my opinion, anyway.

One thought on ““Twitter Famous” – What?

Leave a Reply

