30 Questions Writing Meme

I’ve taken this from Maggie Madly Writing, I’m sure she won’t mind!

1. Tell us about your favorite writing project/universe that you’ve worked with and why.

I’ve created way too many fictional worlds, and half-written way too many stories… but I would have to say that my favourite universe is my current one, Sulrun, a massive fantasy world, simply because it has the most depth of any so far, with loads of cultures, civilisations, species and a fully fleshed out pantheon (or two). My favourite story would be ‘Prison of the Fragile,’ not just because it’s the only full-length project I’ve managed to complete so far, but because it’s a really powerful, metaphorical story that made a dark summer a lot brighter.

2. How many characters do you have? Do you prefer males or females?

Too many. Seriously, I made a list of all the characters I’ve ever created and it’s over 200.

3. How do you come up with names, for characters (and for places if you’re writing about fictional places)?

For characters, I either know the name immediately (it becomes part of their identity) or I’ll look online until I find one that’s fitting. For places, I like to mix two words together, often a more descriptive word such as ‘Cinder’ with a more ordinary noun such as ‘port.’ I like to look at the names of places of old and try to re-imagine them. Other times, I’ll create a one-worded name that sums up the place as best as possible.

4. Tell us about one of your first stories/characters!

I was writing loads of little stories as a kid, but my first “full-length” was a 50,000 word fantasy epic with just about every cliché ever created.

5. By age, who is your youngest character? Oldest?

Does a foetus in the womb count? And for oldest, I have a human character who’s been living for hundreds of years.

6. Where are you most comfortable writing? At what time of day? Computer or good ol’ pen and paper?

Always the computer. I prefer to write either 9-12 in the morning or 9-12 at night.

7. Do you listen to music while you write? What kind? Are there any songs you like to relate/apply to your characters?

Most of the time. I like to find songs that suit the mood/atmosphere of the words on the page. For instance, if I was writing an emotional scene set in the snow, I’d play a slow, winter-themed melody. If I was writing a highly-charged, action-packed fight scene I’d play something from a really dramatic soundtrack.

8. What’s your favorite genre to write? To read?

Fantasy.

9. How do you get ideas for your characters? Describe the process of creating them.

Ideas for characters are usually just spontaneous things. Sometimes I’ll be inspired by another character from another story/show. I rarely find inspiration in real life.

10. What are some really weird situations your characters have been in? Everything from serious canon scenes to meme questions counts!

There have been quite a lot of weird situations. In one of my stories, the main character is being followed wherever he goes by the love of his life who he’d killed at least a month ago. Yeah I know.

11. Who is your favorite character to write? Least favorite?

I love writing about really strong-willed, resolute characters like Celia from ‘Prison of the Fragile.’ But also the characters who have clearly taken a long step into madness, like the villainous Scarla from the same book.

I’m not sure I have a least favourite, probably a character who I personally don’t like?

12. In what story did you feel you did the best job of worldbuilding? Any side-notes on it you’d like to share?

See first question.

13. What’s your favorite culture to write, fictional or not?

I’ve loved writing about the monks of Blessed Reach/Moonmilk Monastery.

14. How do you map out locations, if needed? Do you have any to show us?

If you look through my folders, you’ll find more badly drawn maps than you could ever need. I tend to just grab some paper and start scrawling, but luckily I have a good friend who can actually draw maps for me. I’ll post one at the end of this post.

15. Midway question! Tell us about a writer you admire, whether professional or not!

I admire all authors!

16. Do you write romantic relationships? How do you do with those, and how “far” are you willing to go in your writing? ;)

I’m not into romance much, but I do like to add a drop in here and there.

17. Favorite protagonist and why!

Celia from ‘Prison of the Fragile.’ She experiences the worst of what any human can bear, survives, and over the course of the story literally transcends herself.

18. Favorite antagonist and why!

Scarla from ‘Prison of the Fragile’ because she’s utterly insane and destructive. But deep inside, I think she’s as much a victim as those she hurts…

19. Favorite minor character that decided to shove himself into the spotlight and why!

Brother Tidius. He was meant to fulfil one small role in his story, but he became a main character all by himself! I wrote him out of the re-write, but I miss him.

20. What are your favorite character interactions to write?

I love the really dramatic scenes between characters, often between the forces good and evil themselves.

21. Do any of your characters have children? How well do you write them?

Some of them… and I have no idea how well!

22. Tell us about one scene between your characters that you’ve never written or told anyone about before! Serious or not.

I can’t bring any significant scenes to mind. How boring.

23. How long does it usually take you to complete an entire story—from planning to writing to posting (if you post your work)?

Well, judging from the fact that I’ve only ever completed one novel, a long time!

24. How willing are you to kill your characters if the plot so demands it? What’s the most interesting way you’ve killed someone?

I’m usually okay with killing my characters as long as it fits the plot. The most interesting character death would have to be when a certain main character is forced off the edge of a cliff by a strange cult… and gets back upon again.

25. Do any of your characters have pets? Tell us about them.

Some of my characters have had pets. Felix has a cat, a little black thing that likes the taste of blood.

26. Let’s talk art! Do you draw your characters? Do others draw them?

The same friend who draws the maps has drawn a few characters for me. Other than that, no.

27. Along similar lines, do appearances play a big role in your stories? Tell us about them, or if not, how you go about designing your characters.

I’m not that great with describing appearances. In my head it’s actually the colours of a person’s hair, eyes and clothing that matter more.

28. Have you ever written a character with physical or mental disabilities? Describe them, and if there’s nothing major to speak of, tell us a few smaller ones.

Since I wrote half a story about a freak-show once, I’m pretty sure there are some disabilities going around. There was a guy with a deformed hand, a guy born with red eyes, a girl with wings stuck to her back… and more.

29. How often do you think about writing? Ever come across something IRL that reminds you of your story/characters?

I never stop daydreaming about my writing.

30. Tag someone!

I won’t lie, I have no idea how to tag somebody on WordPress.

Bye!

‘Sephyr’ by Beau Berends

5 thoughts on “30 Questions Writing Meme

  1. I love this blog! I get to read about MY favourite characters again. And that map is truly awesome. Your good friend must be cery talented. 😛 😉

Leave a Reply

