Considering NaNoWriMo

In light of my previous posts about working towards finishing a novel and productiveness, I’m considering NaNoWriMo for the first time.

For those that don’t know anything about the challenge, it’s basically 30 days in which you are supposed to write a manuscript of 50,000 words despite their quality. I’ve heard only good things about it in the past few years. In fact, I’ve wanted to do it every year since I first heard about it, but never had the motivation or the time. This year, I think I might be able to finally give it a go.

What I like about NaNoWriMo is that it gives you a sense of drive for something you’re already passionate about, without having to worry about whether what you’re writing is actually any good. I’m feeling confident that I’ll at least try it.

So if there are any readers out there with any NaNoWriMo experiences, let me know. I’d really like to hear about how it went for you and all that.

And good luck to all those who have already decided to take the challenge!

Note: I’ve reached 4000 words on my current WIP, which is the most I’ve managed in about 4 months! I’m very pleased with myself, I have to say.

One thought on “Considering NaNoWriMo

  1. I’d say that the best part about NaNoWriMo is that you can just write about whatever you like… and if it’s really terrible, you can just keep going. Don’t think too hard – just write.

Leave a Reply

