Half A Year Later… And Why I Lost NaNoWriMo

Hello! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I’ve been meaning to do another post for a while, so here it is!

In my last post, I wrote that I was considering NaNoWriMo, the annual writer’s challenge to write a novel of 50,000 words through the month of November. In the end, I decided to undertake the challenge. I managed about 9000 before I admitted defeat.

Why did I fail the challenge? It certainly wasn’t motivation. I was rearing to go. I wanted nothing more than to experience that rapturous moment of typing the very last word.

It wasn’t a lack of conflict in my book, which is something that has affected some of my earlier works. My story involved, in basic terms, a magician living alone in the woods, slowly struggling towards his ultimate revenge on the man who ruined his life. The premise was interesting, to me at least. The description was some of my best, and the writing wasn’t even that bad.

Was it the characters? Did they come across as bland, one-dimensional people that I couldn’t find any reason to care about?

Maybe.

Don’t get me wrong, one of the characters is possibly one of the most interesting, thought-provoking figures that I’ve ever imagined. I’d even planned a loose trilogy around her life. Maybe  it was the other characters, the protagonist and his struggles. I don’t know. Maybe I never will.

But that’s okay, because through NaNoWriMo, I accomplished two things:

1) I wrote 9000 words of a story that I probably wouldn’t have written without the challenge. And I enjoyed myself. Every writing experience should lead to better quality writing overall  and I believe that I learnt quite a bit from the trials and tribulations of those 9000 words. Locations in my world were developed, and so on.

2) Through my failure, I realised that my characters were a little rubbish. That’s why, in the plot that’s currently revolving in my head, I’m going to put extra work into characterisation. I’m going to try my hardest to make my characters relate-able  interesting and three-dimensional. Without Nano, I wouldn’t have ever come to that realisation.

So I don’t think I did lose Nano. Not really.

See you next time!

Image

Before you go, here’s a picture of Happy Chihuahua celebrating my would-be victory.

3 thoughts on “Half A Year Later… And Why I Lost NaNoWriMo

  1. Good post! It’s true – no “loss” of NaNoWriMo is really a loss. Even if you don’t write a single word, you still may have the glimmer of an idea that inspired you to try NaNo in the first place.

Leave a Reply

